Jitendra, Latifi to strengthen Child Protection mechanism NDF Provides cash assistance to injured Children

Rajouri, July 28: Twenty conflict affected children injured in border shelling, mine blasts and militancy were supported in a meeting of District Child Protection Committee (DCPC) headed by Deputy Commissioner Rajouri Jitendra Kumar Singh as Chairman. The meeting was facilitated by National Development Foundation, reputed organization working for the last more than 20 years. NDF provided this support in partnership with Save the Children and with support from European Commission (ECHO). The cash assistance to the tune of Rs. 5,11,000/- was approved and given by DCPC to the injured children hailing from Nowshera, Manjakote, Budhal, Doongi and other parts of district Rajouri. Rajiv Khajuria, Chief Functionary NDF informed that apart from the cash assistance, this year NDF is also providing livelihood support to around 105 families in Rajouri and Poonch district in partnership with Save the Children and with support from ECHO. He thanked the members of DCPC for their whole hearted support for the cause of strengthening Child protection mechanism in the district. Jitendra Kumar Singh DC Rajouri, Chairman DCPC Rajouri expressed satisfaction over existence and functioning of DCPC and assured that he will convene the regular meetings of DCPC and will strengthen child protection mechanism in the district. He sought for the technical support from National Development Foundation in the process. He directed the district and sectoral officers to raise awareness on Child Protection and increase reporting and also to take appropriate actions wherever required. He also lauded the role of NDF in facilitation DCPC meeting and providing cash assistance to the injured children. He also assured that he will take all possible actions for quick disposal of all the files of key compensation of these conflict affected people lying in his office. Prominent among those present include DCPC members K.K. Langer, Abdul Rashid Kataria, Iqbal Shawl, Prof. Mohd Salim Wani, Manju Sharma, ADDC V.J. Hangloo, Addl. SP Rajouri, CPO Rajouri Abdul Hamid, PO ICDS S.A. Qureshi, DSWO Rajouri Mehmood Ahmed, Dr. Chaman, DEPO Rajouri Suresh Kumar, ZEO Rajouri, ZEO Doongi, ZEO Nowshera, Distt. Mass Media Officer, Sadiq Khan, Parvinder Singh, Sunny Kumar, Dr. Sumit Bakshi and others.